Youtube Screengrab / CBC

It was a landslide victory for Penny Oleksiak who garnered 61 votes (94%) of the vote for the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award for 2016, given annually by the Canadian Press to Canada’s female athlete of the year.

The Toronto native was a winner of four medals at the Summer Olympics and claimed four more medals at the recent World Short-course championship.

The 16-year-old swimming sensation already won the Lou Marsh Trophy as Canada’s athlete of the year earlier this month, becoming the youngest winner in the history of the award.

Previous five winners of the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award:

  • 2015 – Brooke Henderson – Golf
  • 2014 – Eugenie Bouchard – Tennis
  • 2013 – Eugenie Bouchard – Tennis
  • 2012 – Christine Sinclair – Soccer
  • 2011 – Jennifer Heil – Freestyle Skiing

Facebook Conversations

- Advertisement -